Eswatini Daily News
e-Learning Education INTERNATIONAL Lifestyle National Travel

Want to study abroad? Here are 8 countries you can go to

By Phephile Motau

There is an opportunity for emaSwati to enrol for a Masters’s Degree program in one of eight universities through the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships.

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS) offer a unique
opportunity to study for a two-year Master’s degree in a low or middle-income Commonwealth country.
It is aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities. The scholarships are a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, broaden your horizons, and build a global network that will last a lifetime.

the University of Eswatini is one of the hosts for this year’s cycle of scholarships, however, emaSwati are not eligible to apply, but they can apply in the other eight countries. These are Bangladesh, Ghana, The Caribbean (Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad & Tobago), Malaysia, Mauritius, Pakistan, Tanzania and Uganda. According to, through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to the shared challenges people face – both in their home countries and those that host them.

There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award. You must have already completed your degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application. You will be asked to provide a copy of your final transcript and degree certificate.
The QECS will only fund two-year Masters’s Courses and applications must be submitted online through the Online Application System.

This system is used throughout the selection process. QECS scholars receive fully-funded tuition fees, a living allowance (stipend) for the duration of the award, return economy flights to their host country, an arrival allowance and a Research support grant – on request only; subject to approval. Applications opened on November 15, 2022, and will close on 10 January 2023 and applications can be done through the website.

Related posts

Tunisian judge bars broadcast media from opposition conspiracy cases


Election Day in pictures


EDN November 3, 2023


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Siyabonga Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Open chat
Connect with the Eswatini Daily News on WhatsApp