Eswatini Daily News

By Ntokozo Magongo

As if rallying behind the National Elections payoff line, ‘Ngete ngasala nasakha live letfu’, sports personalities are throwing their weight into the national assignment.

Most of them have joined the race to be Members of Parliament (MP) while others will be contesting for Indvuna Yenkhundla and Bucopho. The nominations exercise was held on Saturday and Sunday by the Eswatini Boundaries Commission (EBC).

Some of the familiar faces in sports that join the race include the Hhohho Regional Football Association (HRFA) Comfort Shongwe, former Women’s Football Association (WFA) President Sonnyboy Mabuza, Premier League of Eswatini (PLE) Executive Members Sibusiso ‘Scorpion’ Nxumalo and Victor Rodriques.

ALSO READ: EBC applauds emaSwati for coming out in numbers

Some of those who were not left out are Premier League of Eswatini (PLE) football players and former players. Current players who hope to make it to the August House are the Mbabane Swallows duo of Felix Badenhorst who will be contesting under Siphofaneni Inkhundla and Wonder ‘Samba’ Jive Nhleko who was nominated under Gege Inkhundla.

Former players are Mbabane Highlanders defender Sipho Sibandze, former Moneni Pirates goalkeeper Christopher ‘Tototo’ Khoza and Mfanzile ‘Fash’ Dlamini among others. Others are referee Thulani Sibandze and assistant referee Thami Ginindza.

The next stage in the elections is the primary elections that are billed for August 26, whereby the Bucopho will get elected and the Constituency Headman (Indvuna Yenkhundla). The Primary elections will also see the MP candidates who would have succeeded during the first stage of elections.

The main elections for the 12th Parliament will be on September 29, 2023, with September 26 being the special voting day.

ALSO READ: Finding economic growth pathways requires attention to governance

Sports personalities nominated for elections:

1. Felix Badenhorst M. Swallows player
2. Wonder Nhleko M. Swallows player
3. Comfort Shongwe HRFA Chairman
4. Sibusiso ‘Scorpion’ Nxumalo PLE Executive
5. Thami Ginindza Assistant Referee
6. Vusi ‘Futis’ Dlamini Golfer
7. Zwakele Simelane Sports Council
8. Sonnyboy Mabuza Ex-Women Football President
9. Sipho Sibandze Ex-Highlanders player
10. Webster Lukhele Boxing President
11. Thulani Sibandze FIFA Referee
12. Senzo Nkambule Ex-Referee
12. Sikhumbuzo Dlamini Ex-EFA official
13. Celucolo ‘Dino’ Dlamini Sports Council Board Chairman
14. Mfanzile ‘Fash’ Dlamini Leopard Manager
15. Victor Rodrigues PLE Executive
16. Simiso Masilela Green Mamba Doctor
17. Jabulani ‘Go Man’ Nxumalo Ex-Swallows player
18. Mhlonishwa Motsa M. Pirates CEO
19. Nathi ‘Mdokies’ Hlophe EBIS Sports show host
20. Nkonotja Zwane EBIS Down Memory Lane show host
20. Christopher ‘Tototo’ Khoza Ex-Moneni Pirates player

Related posts

Aircraft carrying Malawi vice president missing

EDN Reporter

Russian navy vessels seen near Nord Stream before blasts – Nordic Broadcasters report


Government bans plastic bags in Eswatini!

EDN Reporter

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Siyabonga Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Open chat
Connect with the Eswatini Daily News on WhatsApp